Static Scribe Wins Humanitas Prize

The 29th Annual Humanitas Prize winners were announced yesterday during a luncheon at the Hilton Universal Hotel in Los Angeles, Calif. More than 340 members of the motion picture and television industries were on hand as 11 writers, representing a diverse slate of work, were honored for their achievements.

The prestigious prizes and a total of $105,000 were awarded in eight categories for film and television writers whose work “entertains and enriches the viewing public.”

In the Children’s Animation Category, Dwayne McDuffie walked away with the prize and $10,000 for the “Jimmy” episode of the Kids WB! series Static Shock. McDuffie and Alan Burnett came up with the story for this half-hour installment, which has teen superhero Static discovering that his super powers can’t protect those close to him from gun violence.

Writer-Producer Fay Kanin received The Kieser Award in recognition for her outstanding service to the industry and beyond. Recent UCLA grad Kathy Fischer received the first David and Lynn Angell Humanitas Comedy Fellowship which includes a $10,000 stipend and an internship in the television industry.

Frank Desiderio, C.S.P., president of the Humanitas Prize, states, “television and films can serve as a prophetic voice helping us gain some insight into what is going on in society. The stories honored by Humanitas Prize provide that voice. This year many of the winners and finalists reminded us of the responsibility that every adult has in caring for and guiding children.”