‘Simpsons’ Producers to Get Special Saturn Award


The producers of FOX’s long-running animated series The Simpsons are not too happy with the TV Academy for its snubbing of animation writers (see story here http://www.animationmagazine.net/tv/animation-writers-file-complaint-with-tv-academy/), but they will be receiving a special honor at the 38th Annual Saturn Awards on July 26. The awards will take place at the Castaway Event Center in Burbank, Calif.

The event, which is produced by The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films will also honor Dark Crystal director and voice of Yoda and Miss Piggy Frank Oz, the creator of Walking Dead Robert Kirkman and Dexter actor James Remer.

Director Drew Goddard (Cabin in the Woods) will also receive a special achievement award. Goddard is the writer of Cloverfield and Spielberg’s upcoming movie Robopocalypse.

For a complete list of honorees, visit www.saturnawards.org.

The Simpsons

The Simpsons