Saturn Awards Rings Nominees

The Academy of Science-Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films has released its list of contenders for the 33 Annual Saturn Awards, which will honor he best genre works from film, television and home entertainment. Warner Bros.’ Superman Returns leads the pack by snatching 10 nominations in total, including nods for Best Fantasy Film, Best Special Effects and Best Director (Bryan Singer). Twentieth Century Fox’s X-Men: The Last Stand and Picturehouse Ent.’s Pan’s Labyrinth also did well with six nominations each.

This year’s nominees for Best Animated Film are Disney/Pixar’s Cars DreamWorks/Aardman’s Flushed Away, Warner Bros.’ Happy Feet, Sony’s Monster House, DreamWorks’ Over the Hedge and Warner Independent Picture’s A Scanner Darkly. Most of the films on this list have been popping up in other lists this awards season, but Scanner has been largely overlooked until now. While its rotoscoped visuals may have been a liability in those other contests, the source material by famed sci-fi author Philip K. Dick surely tipped the scales with this organization.

In the Special Effects category, Superman Returns is up against fellow comic-book adaptation X-Men: The Last Stand from 20th Century Fox. Also in the running are vfx teams from Warner Bros.’ The Fountain, Paramount’s Mission Impossible III and Disney’s Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest.

Disney’s Bambi II got some love with a nom for Best DVD Release. The long-awaited sequel to the Mouse House classic squares off in the category with Anchor Bay’s Beowulf & Grendel, New Line Cinema’s The Butterfly Effect 2, sony’s Hollow Man 2, Universal’s The Sci Fi Boys and Lionsgate’s 2001 Maniacs.

In addition, a Special Recognition Award will be presented to the imaginative children’s book Chiodo Bros.’ Alien Xmas, written by Stephen Chiodo and Jim Strain, and published by Baby Tattoo Books. The book is on track to become a stop-motion feature film with major interest from Hollywood.

This year marks the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films’ 35th Anniversary. The non-profit organization was founded in 1972 by film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed. The Academy is currently headed by Robert Holguin, who serves as President of the Academy.

The winners will be announced during a ceremony taking place on Thursday, May 10 in Universal City, Calif. Hosting the event will be actor Greg Grunberg from NBC’s Heroes and comedian Jeffrey Ross, co-creator of the animated series Where My Dog’s At? A full list of nominees can be found at Special Award recipients will be announced shortly.