Incredibles Wins Over D.C. Critics

Just days after the Los Angeles Film Critic’s Association picked Disney/Pixar’s The Incredibles as Best Animated Film of the year, The Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) has followed suit.

This is the third year the 23-member group has contributed its list of superlatives to the crowded awards season. The first top toon prize went to Disney’s Lilo & Stitch in 2002, followed by the Disney/Pixar collaboration, Finding Nemo, in 2003.

Focus Features’ effects-aided Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind was the big winner this year. The indie hit starring Jim Carey and Kate Winslet took Best Film, Best Director (Michael Gondry), Best Acting Ensemble and Best Original Screenplay (Charlie Kaufman).

Another big winner is Jamie Foxx, who snagged Best Actor for portraying legendary performer Ray Charles in Ray. Pulling of a stunning coo, the thespian also claimed Best Supporting Actor for starring opposite Tom Cruise in Michael Mann’s Collateral.

Best Actress went to Imelda Staunton for Mike Leigh’s Vera Drake from Fine Line Features and Cate Blanchett earned a Best Supporting Actress award for playing film icon Katharine Hepburn in Martin Scorsese’s Howard Hughes biopic, The Aviator.

Golden Globes favorite, Sideways from Fox Searchlight, took Best Adapted Screenplay for writer/director Alexander Payne and co-writer Jim Taylor. Maria Full of Grace, distributed in the U.S. by Fine Line Features, was named Best Foreign Language Film and Michael Moore’s controversial Fahrenheit 9/11 rounds out the list of winners with Best Documentary.

WAFCA is comprised of Washington, DC area film critics from local newspapers, television, and radio. Award winners were chosen from among films that opened in the Washington D.C. area between January 1 and December 31, 2004.