Gromit, Adrenalini Bros. Take BAFTAS

Oscar winning animated feature Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit was honored by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts on Sunday during the Children’s Film and Television Awards. The film from DreamWorks Animation and Aardman Animations was named top feature, while The Amazing Adrenalini Brothers from Pesky Ltd, Studio B Prods. and CITV took the award for television animation.

After winning last year’s Academy award for Best Animated Feature, Curse of the Were-Rabbit snagged the BAFTA from fellow nominees Disney/Walden Media’s The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, Disney’s Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest and Warner Bros.’ Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (winner of this year’s BAFTA Kid’s Vote). Directed by Nick Park and Steve Box, the clay-animated comedy previously won the Alexander Korda Award for Outstanding British Film of the Year at the Orange British Academy Film Awards back in February.

Distributed by Bejuba Ent., The Amazing Adrenalini Brothers won out over a field of competitors consisting of King Arthur’s Disasters from Zenith Ent. Ltd and CiTV; The Koala Brothers Outback Christmas from Spellbound Ent. Ltd. And CBeebies; and Those Scurvy Rascals from Blue-Zoo Prods., Entara and Nickelodeon U.K.

The Amazing Adrenalini Brothers is a Flash-animated 2D series geared to kids 6-12. The show follows the misadventures of three daredevil siblings who live for action and excitement. Having left their little-known homeland of Rendoosia, where danger is a way of life, the Adrenalinis are on a mission to amaze people the world over with their mind-boggling feats, which never quite go as planned. The series debuted on ITV in the U.K. in January and also airs on YTV in Canada. Cartoon Network has acquired the show for its outlets in the U.S., Latin America, Asia and Europe.

Nickelodeon U.K., which carries Adrenalini, was named Channel of the Year during the awards ceremony. The network beat out CBBC, CBEEBIES and Nick Jr. U.K. for the distinction. Meanwhile, Independent Production Company of the Year went to Darrall MacQueen, producer of the animated series The Rory Stories and Animal Spies. Also up for the arard were Collingwood O’hare Ent., Ragdoll Prods. and Wisedup.

Honoring kids’ shows produced aborad, the Academy gave the international television award to Lazy Town, the hit Nick Jr. U.K. show produced by Lazy Town Prods. The other nominees for the award included Nickelodoen’s The Fairly Odd Parents and SpongeBob SquarePants, as well as Harry And His Bucket Full Of Dinosaurs from Collingwood O’Hare Ent. Silver Fox Films Ltd. and CCI Ent.

The BAFTA for Preschool Animation was presented to Pocoyo, a CG-animated series from Granada Kids, Zinkia Ent. and Cosgrove Hall Films. The show about a curious child who lives in a world of limitless possibilities recenty picked up major awards at Annecy and Cartoons on the Bay and is currently in its second season. The other animated preschool series in the running for this year’s BAFTA were Charlie And Lola from Tiger Aspect Prods., Postman Pat from Entertainment Rights and Cosgrove Hall Films, and Spellbound’s aforementioned The Koala Brothers.

For a full list of this year’s British Academy of Film and Television Arts Children’s Film and Television Awards, go to