Globe Noms for Kong Director, Score

On the eve of the release of his latest vfx extravaganza, director Peter Jackson received a Golden Globe nomination for directing King Kong. The state-of-the-art update also got a nod for Best Original Score, recognizing the work of James Newton Howard. Despite Universal’s heavy awards-season campaigning, however, the film was shut out of the other major categories, including Best Picture.

Jackson picked up the Globe in 2004 for directing The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. This year, New Zealand’s golden boy is in good company as he competes with Woody Allen for Match Point, George Clooney for Good Night, and Good Luck, Ang Lee for Brokeback Mountain, Fernando Meirelles for The Constant Gardener and Steven Spielberg for Munich.

Howard’s score for Kong also has some stiff competition. Also in the running are Alexandre Desplat for Syriana, Gustavo Santaolalla for Brokeback Mountain, Harry Gregson for The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, and John Williams for Memoirs of a Geisha. Narnia also garnered a Best Original Song nomination for Alanis Morissette’s ‘Wunderkind.’

Last year, Disney/Pixar’s The Incredibles was nominated for Best Motion Picture’Musical or Comedy, a category filled this time by live-action efforts. The contenders are Mrs. Henderson Presents from The Weinstein Co., Pride & Prejudice from Focus Features/StudioCanal, The Producers from Universal Pictures/Columbia Pictures, The Squid and the Whale from Samuel Goldwyn Film/Sony Pictures Releasing International and Walk The Line from Twentieth Century Fox.

On the dramatic side, this years Best Motion Picture contenders are Focus Features’ Brokeback Mountain and The Constant Gardener, Warner Independent Pictures’s Good Night, and Good Luck, New Line Cinema’s A History Of Violence and DreamWorks Pictures’ Match Point.

The 63rd Annual Golden Globe Awards will be presented by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association on Monday, Jan. 16, 2006, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. The event will be air live on NBC at 8 p.m. (ET). A complete list of nominees is available at