Connect with us

Game Developers Choice Noms Announced

Festivals and Events

Game Developers Choice Noms Announced

The International Game Developers Association (IGDA) has named the nominees for the Third Annual Game Developers Choice Awards. The recipients will be announced at a ceremony on March 6, during the Game Developers Conference (GDC), March 4-8 in San Jose, Calif. Produced by the Gama Network, the GDC is the largest annual event exclusively for game development professionals.

Voting was open to all professional game developers, regardless of membership or affiliation, ensuring that the nominees reflect the international development community’s opinions.

Vying for Game of the Year are Battlefield 1942 (Digital Illusions), Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (Rockstar North), Metroid Prime (Retro Studios), Neverwinter Nights (BioWare Corp.) and Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell (Ubi Soft Montreal).

Original Game Character of the Year will be a showdown between Blinx from Blinx the Time Sweeper, Ratchet from Ratchet and Clank, Rau from The Mark of Kri, Sam Fischer from Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell and Sly Cooper from Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus.

The other nominees are:

Rookie Studio of the Year

Arkane Studios for Arx Fatalis

Day 1 Studios for MechAssault

Gas Powered Games for Dungeon Siege

Pipeworks Software for Godzilla: Destroy All Monsters Melee

Retro Studios for Metroid Prime

Excellence in Audio

GTA Team for sound design in Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

Rich Briggs, Latch Brothers, Takayuki Kawagoe, Noah Musler, Hideki Naganuma and Fumitaka Shibata for sound design in Jet Set Radio Future

EA Sound Studio for sound effects in Medal of Honor: Allied Assault

Metroid Team for sound effects in Metroid Prime

Andrew Boyd, Chris Hegstrom and Robb Mills for composition in The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

Excellence in Game Design

Romain de Waubert de Genlis for Battlefield 1942

GTA Team for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

Metroid Team for Metroid Prime

Satoru Iwata, Yoshiaki Koizumi, Shigeru Miyamoto, Takashi Tezuka and Kenta Usui for in Super Mario Sunshine

Splinter Cell Team leaders for Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell

Excellence in Level Design

Metroid Team for Metroid Prime

Brian Allgeier, Mark Cerny, Lesley Mathieson and Colin Munson Ratchet & Clank

Brendan McNamara, Chun Wah Kong and the SCEE Design Team The Getaway

Francois Pelland and Team for Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell

Pancho Eekels, Dave Ewing and James Schmalz for Unreal Tournament 2003

Excellence in Programming

Mike Biddlecombe, Scott Bilas, Bartosz Kijanka, James Loe, Eric Tams and Chad Queen Dungeon Siege

Metroid Team for Metroid Prime

Mark Brockington, Scott Greig, Jason Knipe, Don Moar and Don Yakielashek for Neverwinter Nights

Antoine Dodens and Team for Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell

WarCraft III Team for Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos

Excellence in Visual Arts

Jonathan Chey, Ken Levine and Team for art direction in Freedom Force

Shinji Hashimoto and Tetsuya Nomura for art direction in Kingdom Hearts

Hokyo Lim, Suzanne Kaufman, Dev Madan, Augie Pagan and Karin Yamagiwa for art direction in Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus

Nicolas Cantin, Frederick Gagne and Benoit Sokal for art direction in Syberia“Jay Beard, Erik Medina, Jeff Merghart, Dan Mueller and Tim Neveu for animation in The Mark of Kri

Excellence in Writing

Denis Dyack and Ken McCulloch for Eternal Darkness: Sanity’s Requiem

GTA Team for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

Lukas Kure and Dan Vavra for Mafia: The City of Lost Heaven

Craig Hubbard and Team for No One Lives Forever 2: A Spy In H.A.R.M.S. Way

Clint Hocking and JT Petty for Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell

An advisory committee from the IGDA will select the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, First Penguin Award and the IGDA Award for Community Contribution. All registered GDC attendees are invited to attend the ceremony.

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top