Channel Frederator Awards Bestowed

Pixar’s John Lasseter was named Cartoonist of the Year and Blur Studio’s CG sci-fi actioner Rockfish took Cartoon of the Year as animation podcast Channel Frederator today announced the winners of its First Annual Channel Frederator Awards. The kudos will be handed out tonight at a special ceremony in Los Angeles as Frederator marks the one-year anniversary of its popular podcast by honoring some of the best submissions from filmmakers around the world.

Available for download on Apple’s iTunes and at, Channel Frederator was started by Fred Seibert, president and exec producer of Frederator Studios, and David Karp, founder of web application developer Davidville. The award winners were selected in 11 categories from a field of more than 1,000 animated films sent in during 2006 and judged by Channel Frederator viewers. There are also five juried categories, including the Instigator Award, which went to Apple for the important role it has played in the proliferation of podcasting.

‘Channel Frederator was founded as a forum for talented Internet filmmakers

and animators everywhere to showcase their creative work, and judging by the

caliber of the entries, we have achieved this,’ says Seibert. ‘We are especially proud to honor John Lasseter who, as a visionary cartoonist, serves as an inspiration for filmmakers everywhere.’

Frederator Studios ( has produced hit animated series as Nickelodeon’s The Fairly Oddparents, ChalkZone and My Life as a Teenage Robot. The company’s innovative cartoon laboratories Oh Yeah! Cartoons and Random! Cartoons have to date fostered the creation of 138 shorts, four series and five feature films in development.

Recipients of this year’s awards are:

Viewers’ Choice

Best Flash Film

I Like Pandas

Jessica Borutski

Best Foreign Film

Le Building

Olivier Staphylas

Best Music Video

War Photographer

Joel Trussell

Funniest Film

Everyone Else Has Had More Sex Than Me

Bernard Derriman

Best Design

Bendito Machine

Jossie Malis

Best Dance Sequence

Dance Like a Monkey

Collection Agency


Best CG Film


Blur Studio

Through a Podcast Darkly


Vera Brosgol

Film Most Likely to Be Censored by the FCC


Tim Farrell

So Cute It Hurts


Amanda Spalinski

Best Voicemail

Sweet Love ‘ Unknown

Cartoon of the Year


Blur Studio

Juried Prizes

Biggest File Size


Blur Studio

Joe Robot Award

The New Guy

Ed Skudder

The Vanguard Award

David Karp

Cartoonist of the Year

John Lasseter

Instigator Award


Producers’ Choice Award

War Photographer

Joel Trussell