Cartoon Tributes Noms Announced

The European Association of Animation Film has announced this year’s nominees for Cartoon Tributes, an award ceremony to be held during the 18th annual Cartoon Forum in the Catalonian city Girona (Sept. 19-22). In its second year, Cartoon Tributes will recognize companies’ contributions to the development of the European animation industry.

The 15 companies nominated as finalists in the three categories come from six European countries: Spain, France, Germany, the UK, Italy and the Netherlands. The nominees are:

Broadcaster of the Year

Cartoon Network Europe (U.K./U.S.)

KI.KA (Germanay)

Rai (Italy)

Televisi’ de Catalunya (Spain)

TF1 (France)

Investor/Distributor of the Year

BKN International (Germany/U.K./Spain)

Luk Internacional (Spain)

Mediatoon (France)

Telescreen (The Netherlands)

TV-Loonland (U.K./Germany/France)

Producer of the Year

Cromosoma (Spain)

Marathon (France)

Millimages (France)

Neptuno (Spain)

TV Cartoons (U.K.)

The winners will be selected via voting by more than 750 industry professionals attending Cartoon Forum, an annual event aimed at advancing the production, distribution and financing of European animated series for television and new media. The awards will be presented along with the coveted Cartoon d’Or. The five finalists for that award are: Life Line by Tomek Ducki (Hungary), Peter & the Wolf by Suzie Templeton (U.K.), The Irresistible Smile by Ami Lindhom (Finland), The Pearce Sisters by Luis Cook (U.K.) and t.o.m. by Daniel Gray & Tom Brown (U.K.).

Cartoon Forum is being made possible this year with the support of partners Generalitat de Catalunya’Institut Catal’ de les Ind’stries Culturals (ICIC), Televisi’ de Catalunya (TVC) and Catalan Films & TV (CF&TV). Also lending support are Ajuntament de Girona, Instituto de la Cinematograf’a y de las Artes Audiovisuales (ICAA), MEDIA Antena Catalunya and Universitat de Girona.

For more information, go to