Cartoon Movie Names Tribute Nominees

The European Association of Animation Film has announced the 12 nominees selected for this year’s Cartoon Movie Tributes, the awards segment of the featival and market taking place March 7-9 in Potsdam, Germany. The awards recognize outstanding achievements, companies or personalities that have had a positive influence on Europe’s animated feature film industry and will be given in the categories Director of the Year, Producer of the Year and Distributor of the Year.

Up for director of the year are Luc Besson for Arthur et les Minimoys (Arthur and the Invisibles), Philippe LeClerc for The Princess of the Sun, Michel Ocelot for Azur et Asmar and Michael Hegner and Karsten Kiilerich for The Ugly Duckling and Me!.

Leclerc’s The Princess of the Sun, an adaptation of a novel by Christian Jacq, will be previewed at the opening night screening. The film is a production of Belokan Prods., which is up for the award for European Producer of the Year. The other nominees in the category are Alphanim, Europool, Nelvana Int. and StudioCanal for Franklin and the Turtle Lake Treasure, BAF Berlin Animation Film for Happily N’Ever After and Eesti Joonisfilm and Rija Films for Lotte from Gadgetville. The nominees for European Distributor of the Year are France T’l'visions Distribution (France), Rezo Films (France), Scanbox Denmark (Denmark) and Universum Film (Germany).

The winners will be selected by the 500 professionals who participate in the sixth annual forum aimed at advancing the production, distribution and financing for European animated feature films. More information on the finalists for Cartoon Movie Tributes 2007 can be found at