Cartoon Movie Names Euro Toon Honorees

The organizers of Cartoon Movie, a trade event for the European animation industry set for March 4-6 in Lyon, France, have announced the nominees for this year’s tributes.

The tributes are intended to recognize those who have contributed the most to the development of European animation over the last year.

The nominees are:

Best European Director of the Year

1 Thorbjorn Christoffersen, Craig Frank and Kresten Vestbjerg Andersen (Denmark) for Journey to Saturn

2 Jacques-R’my Girerd (France) for Mia and the Migoo

3 Tomm Moore (Ireland) for Brendan and the Secret of Kells

Best European Distributor of the Year

1 BAC Films (France)

2 Intersonic (Slovak Republic)

3 Lusomundo (Portugal)

Best European Producer of the Year

1 Anima Vitae, Cinemaker (Finland), Ulysses (Germany), A. Film (Denmark) and Magma Films (Ireland) for Niko & the Way to the Stars

2 Crone Film (Denmark) and Sola Media (Germany) for Sunshine Barry and the Disco Worms

3 Kandor Graphics, Perro Verde Films and Green Moon (Spain) for The Missing Lynx

4 Cartoon Saloon (Ireland), Les Armateurs (France) and Vivi Film (Belgium) for The Secret of Kells

The winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held March 7.