Canadian Screen Awards: Creative Fiction Winners Announced

Paw Patrol
Paw Patrol

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television held its Gala Honouring Excellence in Creative Fiction Storytelling on Tuesday, one of a series of awards ceremonies celebrating the gamut of on-screen achievements generated in the country. You can check out the full list of winners, and stay tuned for Digital & Immersive Storytelling honors being held Thursday night.

The big toon triumph of the evening was Spin Master Ent.’s preschool series PAW Patrol, which scored three awards, followed by DHX Media’s Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs. NFB project The Tesla World Light took the animated short film honors.

The key animation winners were…

Best Pre-School Program or Series
PAW Patrol
TVOKids (TVO) (Spin Master Entertainment)
Laura Clunie, Ronnen Harary, Keith Chapman, Scott Kraft, Toni Stevens, Patricia Burns, Jonah Stroh

Best Animated Program or Series
Sponsor: Spin Master Entertainment
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs
YTV (Corus Entertainment) (DHX Media)
Lesley Jenner, Mark Evestaff, Steven Denure, Kirsten Newlands, Ken Faier, Asaph Fipke, Josh Scherba, Rick Mischel

Best Performance, Animation
Martin Short
The Cat in the Hat Knows A Lot About Halloween!
Treehouse TV (Corus Entertainment) (Portfolio Entertainment)

Best Animated Short
The Tesla World Light – Matthew Rankin, Julie Roy

Best Visual Effects
Vikings “On the Eve”
History (Corus Entertainment) (Take 5 Productions)
Bill Halliday, Dominic Remane, Michael Borrett, Paul Wishart, Ovidiu Cinazan, Jim Maxwell, Kieran McKay, Isabelle Alles, Thomas Morrison, Leann Harvey

Best Sound, Animation
PAW Patrol “Mission PAW: Quest for the Crown”
TVOKids (TVO) (Spin Master Entertainment)
Richard Spence-Thomas, Tim Muirhead, Kyle Peters, Patton Rodrigues, Ryan Ongaro

Best Original Music, Animation
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs “Bacon Girl”
YTV (Corus Entertainment) (DHX Media)
Steffan Andrews

Best Writing, Animation
Mysticons “Sisters in Arms”
YTV (Corus Entertainment) (Nelvana Limited)
Sean Jara

Best Direction, Animation
PAW Patrol “Mission PAW: Quest for the Crown”
TVOKids (TVO) (Spin Master Entertainment)
Charles E. Bastien

Paw Patrol

Paw Patrol