8 Animators, 12 VFX Artists Invited to Join Academy

Eight animators and a dozen visual effects artists have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The academy this year has invited 135 artists and executives working in the motion picture industry to join the organization, which hands out the Oscars.


‘ Ken Bielenberg ‘ ‘Monsters vs Aliens,’ ‘Shrek’

‘ Peter de Seve ‘ ‘Ice Age Dawn of the Dinosaurs,’ ‘Ratatouille’

‘ Steve Hickner ‘ ‘Bee Movie,’ “The Prince of Egypt”

‘ Angus MacLane ‘ ‘Toy Story 3,’ ‘WALL-E’

‘ Darragh O’Connell ‘ ‘Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty,’ ‘Give Up Yer Aul Sins’

‘ Simon Otto ‘ ‘How to Train Your Dragon,’ ‘Kung Fu Panda’

‘ Bob Pauley ‘ ‘Toy Story 3,’ ‘Monsters, Inc.’

‘ Willem Thijssen ‘ ‘The Aroma of Tea,’ ‘A Greek Tragedy”

Visual Effects

‘ Matt Aitken ‘ ‘District 9,’ ‘The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring’

‘ Karen Ansel ‘ ‘Angels & Demons,’ ‘Men in Black II’

‘ Richard Baneham ‘ ‘Avatar,’ ‘The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers’

‘ Eric Barba ‘ ‘The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,’ ‘Zodiac’

‘ Paul Debevec ‘ ‘Avatar,’ ‘King Kong’

‘ Russell Earl ‘ ‘Star Trek,’ ‘Transformers’

‘ Steve Galich ‘ ‘Date Night,’ “Transformers”

‘ Andrew R. Jones ‘ ‘Avatar,’ ‘I, Robot’

‘ Dan Kaufman ‘ ‘District 9,’ ‘Ocean’s Thirteen’

‘ Derek Spears ‘ ‘The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor,’ ‘Superman Returns’

‘ Steve Sullivan ‘ ‘Avatar,’ ‘Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith’

‘ Michael J. Wassel ‘ ‘Hellboy II: The Golden Army,’ ‘The Bourne Identity’

‘The work of these individuals has been appreciated by moviegoers all around the world,’ said Academy President Tom Sherak. ‘The Academy is proud to invite each and every one of them.’

New members will be welcomed into the Academy at an invitation-only reception at the Academy’s Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills in September.